3 Orioles players announced as Gold Glove finalists

Rawlings released their finalists for the best defenders for the 2023 season, with 3 Orioles being finalists
Division Series - Texas Rangers v Baltimore Orioles - Game Two
Division Series - Texas Rangers v Baltimore Orioles - Game Two / Patrick Smith/GettyImages

On Wednesday, three Orioles players were announced as Rawlings Gold Glove finalists. Last year, Ramon Urias and Cedric Mullins were finalists at third base and center field, respectfully. Urias won at the hot corner. For 2023, both players didn't repeat as finalists.

Like 2022, a snubbed player wasn't remembered: SS/3B Gunnar Henderson. A 10 DRS player per Fangraphs was ignored. Carlos Correa, Anthony Volpe and Corey Seager are the shortstops finalists. Even as utility, he was passed over for Mauricio Dubon (2B finalist, too), Zach McKinstry and Taylor Walls. You're not alone, Mateo.

Without further ado, the Orioles' finalists for Gold Gloves.

3 Orioles chosen as gold glove finalists

Adley Rutschman (Catcher)

Adley Rutschman
Division Series - Texas Rangers v Baltimore Orioles - Game One / Greg Fiume/GettyImages

The 24-year-old played well on the field (2 DRS, 13.1 Def), but he wasn't the best per advanced stats. He'll compete against Alejandro Kirk (TOR) and a former Oriole minor leaguer in Jonah Heim (TEX). The latter was a better performer defensively (6 DRS, 22.8 Def) so I won't be surprised if he'll win. If Adley wins, he'll be the second Orioles catcher with a gold glove, alongside two-time winner Matt Wieters (2011-12).

Ryan Mountcastle (First Baseman)

Ryan Mountcastle
Chicago White Sox v Baltimore Orioles / Jess Rapfogel/GettyImages

A surprise finalist! Mounty was hampered by vertigo a bit and played less than 800 innings in the field in 2023. His main competitor is Nathaniel Lowe (TEX), who played the most innings by far and performed better than him and Anthony Rizzo (NYY). If doesn't count fielding innings, all players are similar in DRS (Lowe and Rizzo - 3, Mounty - 2). If Mountcastle wins, he'll be the third Orioles 1B winner and first since 1998 (Rafael Palmeiro).

Austin Hays (Left field)

Austin Hays
Baltimore Orioles v Cleveland Guardians / Ron Schwane/GettyImages

2023 was a season to remember for Hays. First time All-Star and now first time gold glove finalist. His counterparts are tough: the current winner Steven Kwan (CLE) and Daulton Varsho (TOR), a RF finalist on National League last year. Kwan leads all LF in DRS (15) and he's the front-runner to win again.

Hays had an incredible season (7 DRS), but like Mullins in 2022, he'll be trapped against a better performer. If Hays wins, he'll be the first Orioles left fielder to do so. Other gold glove outfielders in O's history: Paul Blair (8x), Adam Jones (4x) and Nick Markakis (2x).


For the first time since 2012, Nolan Arenado won't be a Gold Glover in the National League. The 16 consecutive Gold Gloves by Brooks Robinson will be intact in MLB history, for now.